Resource Management Agency

Welcome to the San Benito County Resource Management Agency (RMA)

 

About San Benito County RMA

 

The Resource Management Agency (RMA) brings together a range of Planning Services, Building Services,  Code Compliance, Environmental Services, Parks Operation, Capital Improvement Services, Facilities, Housing and Economic Development Division, Public Works Division, Integrated Waste Management, Community Service Areas (CSA) and Administrative Services to ensure reasonable and safe development, plan for the future needs of the County, manage infrastructure and County facilities, and protect natural resources.

 

RMA Director- John Guertin

 

Divisions within the RMA include:

 

 

  •  Planning Services - The mission of Resource Management Agency (RMA) Planning is to provide high-quality customer service in the areas of land use, development and resource protection to residents and business operators throughout the unincorporated areas of  San Benito County.

  •  Building Services- The mission of the Resource Management Agency (RMA) Building is to promote economic vitality and enhance the quality of life for the people of San Benito County.
  • Code Compliance- The Code Compliance Division enforces Grading, Building codes, Planning and Zoning violations.  Enforcement is both proactively and in response to a complaint.
  • Environmental Services- Responsible for storm drainage facilities, water and sewer collection system planning, operations and maintenance.
  • Parks Operation- San Benito County is dedicated to providing quality recreational facilities for everyone that visits our parks.
  • Facilities- Manages capital projects for the County facilities and operations.
  • Integrated Waste Management- San Benito County Integrated Waste Management Department (SBCIWM) manages a wide range of recycling, waste reduction, household hazardous waste and contract management programs for the Cities of Hollister, San Juan Bautista, and unincorporated San Benito County.
  • Public Works- The Public Works Department performs a wide variety of services these services include maintenance and construction work on the County’s extensive road and bridge infrastructure, maintenance of County building and grounds, management of three County parks, and mapping and reviewing development plans.
  • Community Services Area- The County Service Areas are responsible for the administration of maintenance and operations of the County Service Area.
  • Frequently Asked Questions- Please click here to query a list of commonly asked questions from RMA customers. Such as obtaining a building permit, requesting road repairs, general development services and question and office hours.
SAN BENITO COUNTY RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AGENCY DIRECTORY AND OTHER USEFUL CONTACTS
RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AGENCY DIRECTOR
Name Ext Position Direct Phone Email
John P. Guertin 269 RMA Director (831) 902-2269 JGuertin@cosb.us
 
BUILDING DIVISION
Jose Martinez 268 Chief Building Official (831) 902-2268 jomartinez@cosb.us
Rosie Habing 295 Building Technician (831) 902-2295 rhabing@cosb.us
Duane Dauphinee 291 Building Inspector (831) 902-2291 ddauphinee@cosb.com
 
PLANNING DIVISION
Taven Kinison Brown 294 Senior Planner/Lead Planner (831) 902-2294 tkinisonbrown@cosb.us
James Walgren 288 Contract Planner (831) 902-2288 jwalgren@cosb.us
Darryl Boyd 286 Senior Planner  (831) 902-2286 dboyd@m-group.us
Michael Kelly 287 Associate Planner (831) 902-2287 mkelly@cosb.us
Rich Felsing 289 Assistant Planner (831) 902-2289 rfelsing@cosb.us
Anita Gutierrez 298 Planning Technician (831) 902-2298 angutierrez@cosb.us
Bill Nicholson (Thurs) 292 LAFCO Executive Officer (831) 902-2292 bnich03@hotmail.com
 
ENGINEERING DIVISION
Larry I. Perlin 160 Contract Engineer (831) 902-2160 lperlin@cosb.us
James Polfer 273 Senior Engineer (831) 902-2273 jpolfer@cosb.us
Adam Goldstone 207 Capital Projects Manager (831) 902-2207 agoldstone@cosb.us
Deems Katada 270 Engineer (831) 902-2270 dkatada@cosb.us
Miguel Sanchez 431 Engineering Technician (831) 902-2431 msanchez2@cosb.us
Kathleen Gallagher Integrated Waste Program Manager (650) 522-2591 kathleeng@csgengr.com
Kevin McCarthy Integrated Waste Program Manager (650) 522-2500 kevinm@csgengr.com
 Hannah Francis  303  Recycling Coordinator (831) 636-4110 HFrancis@cosb.us
CODE ENFORCEMENT
Stacey Watson 290 Code Enforcement Officer III 831-902-2290 swatson@cosb.us
 
ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION
Louie Valdez x18 Management Analyst (831) 636-4000 lvaldez@cosb.us
Louise A. La Corte 430 Accountant (831) 637-8430 llacorte@cosb.us
Claudette Frey 272 Accounting /CSA Coordinator (831) 902-2272 cfrey@cosb.us
Gracie Palacios 277 Accounting (831) 902-2277 gpalacios@cosb.us
Yvette Nunes 297 Account Clerk (831) 902-2297 ynunes@cosb.us
OPERATIONS DIVISION
Kevin O’Neill Interim Maintenance Superintendent (831) 636-4168 koneill@cosb.us
 
MANAGEMENT
Ray Espinosa x10 County Administrative Officer (CAO) (831) 636-4000 respinosa@cosb.us
Dina Bies x10 Executive Secretary to CAO (831) 636-4000 dbies@cosb.us
Barbara Thompson x12 Acting County Counsel (831) 636-4040 bthompson@cosb.us
Shirley Murphy x16 Deputy County Counsel (831) 636-4040 smurphy@cosb.us
Sarah Dickinson x15 County Counsel (831) 636-4040 sdickinson@cosb.us
Erin Liem x17 County Counsel (831) 636-4040 eliem@cosb.us
Steve Coffee x15 Human Resources Analyst (831) 636-4000 scoffee@cosb.us
Chase Graves x13 Clerk of the Board (831) 636-4000 cgraves@cosb.us
Melinda Casillas x16 Budget Analyst (831) 636-4000 mcasillas@cosb.us
 
IT Division
Sacramento Villicana IT Manager svillicana@cosb.us
Eddi Hernandez IT Technician ehernandez@cosb.us